This is a list of Australian publishers who publish children’s books. While it’s true that they publish them, that doesn’t necessarily mean they’ll be interested in looking at your manuscript. Many are inundated with more offerings than they can handle, and others already have a list of preferred authors and illustrators.

To begin your search for possible publishers, browse the books they have already published and find one that prints the type of book like yours. Check number of pages, style, language… Don’t worry if you only have the story and have not illustrated it. Most publishers will use their favourite illustrators to complete your book if they like it.

Don’t send off manuscripts to publishers without checking their submission guidelines. They each have different preferences and if your manuscript arrives in a fashion they don’t accept, it will be put straight into the recycle bin.

selfpublishing

List of Australian Publishers
Allen and Unwin – www.allenandunwin.com Not currently accepting children’s books
Balboa Press – www.balboapress.com.au You pay for publishing
Benchmark publications – Phone: (03) 9779 6891
Black Dog Books (A division of Walker Books) – www.walkerbooks.com.au/Black-Dog-Books Not currently accepting childrens picture books
Blake Publishing/Education – www.blake.com.au Educational books
Boolarong Press – www.boolarongpress.com.au Offers several ways to publish
Brolly Books – shop.brollybooks.com Submissions page under construction
Celapene Press – www.celapenepress.com.au Not publishing childrens picture books
East Street Publications – Phone: (08) 8390 1697
Era Publications – erapublications.com Educational books
Ford Street – www.fordstreetpublishing.com Educational
Freemantle Press – www.fremantlepress.com.au Western Australian authors only
Funtastic – Phone: (03) 9213 0100
Hachette Children’s – www.hachettechildrens.com.au No unsolicited submissions
Hachette Livre (Lothian) – www.hachettechildrens.com.au/about
Hardie Grant Egmont – hardiegrant.com.au/egmont No unsolicited submissions
HarperCollins – www.harpercollins.com.au Not publishing childrens picture books
Hippo Books – Phone: (02) 9313 7811
Hootenanny Books – www.hootenannybooks.com No unsolicited submissions
IAD Press – iadpress.com
Interactive Press – ipoz.biz/IP_Kidz/Kidz Open to most submissions
Jane Curry Publishing – www.janecurrypublishing.com.au
Little Hare Books (imprint of Hardie Grant Egmont) – hardiegrant.com.au/egmont/little-hare-books
Magabala Books – www.magabala.com
Morris Publishing Australia – www.morrispublishingaustralia.com
New Frontier – www.newfrontier.com.au
New Holland Publishers – www.newholland.com.au
Nosy Crow – nosycrow.com
Omnibus – (A division of Scholastic) www.scholastic.com.au
One Day Hill – www.onedayhill.com.au
Pan Macmillan – www.panmacmillan.com.au
Parragon Publishing – www.parragon.com/aus/home
Parsons Publishing – www.parsonspublishingcompany.com
Penguin Books Australia – www.penguin.com.au
Peppinot Press – www.peppinotpress.com.au
Random House – www.randomhouse.com.au
Scholastic – www.scholastic.com.au Educational type books
Simon & Schuster Australia – www.simonandschuster.com.au
St Paul’s Publications – www.stpauls.com.au
The Five Mile Press – www.fivemile.com.au Will accept mauscripts
University of Queensland Press (UQP) – www.uqp.uq.edu.au
Walker Books – www.walkerbooks.com.au
Wilkins Farago – www.wilkinsfarago.com.au
Windy Hollow Books – www.windyhollowbooks.com.au
Wombat Books – www.wombatbooks.com.au
Working Title Press – www.workingtitlepress.com.au

You might also like to read this :close
Home Privacy Policy Terms Of Use Anti Spam Policy Contact Us Affiliate Disclosure Amazon Affiliate Disclaimer DMCA Earnings Disclaimer